Ultrasound, a highly versatile and exceptionally innovative technology!

When welding thermoplastics using ultrasonic energy, the welder creates an inseparable bond between two or several parts. Each connection requires a weld joint that is designed in a way that perfectly suits the material, the geometry and the position of the two components to be joined. The process follows a basic rule: the weld joint design needs to guarantee a high level of repeatability at minimum risk when the joint is reproduced in a welding machine.

Functional principle of ultrasonic welding:

The high-frequency alternating voltage produced by the generator is converted into mechanical vibration energy of the same frequency by the converter. The molecular and interfacial friction generated by this process will then produce heat that causes the plastic to plasticise. The components are afterwards joined by applying the right amount of pressure. The welding stack required for this process is made up of a converter, a booster (amplitude amplifier) and a sonotrode operating at resonant frequency.

Components suitable for welding:

In theory, all components made of thermoplastic materials as well as of amorphous and of semi-crystalline polymers are suitable for welding, although the welding characteristics of these plastics may differ significantly. For instance, amorphous and semi-crystalline polymers cannot be fused together. On the other hand, hard, amorphous plastics such as PC, PS and PMMA possess a coefficient of transmission that is favourable for ultrasonic energy. Finally, semi-crystalline plastics such as PA, PP and POM possess a high acoustic attenuation coefficient.

Functional principle of hot plate welding:

Plane welding:
Plane welding is used wherever materials need to be joined plane to plane or fused tightly with a circumferential weld joint. The planar welding of two components requires a weld joint design created with the help of energy directors.

Spot welding:
This welding method is used primarily in applications that require, for instance, the joining of two planar parts without any joint preparation. Both parts to be joined must, however, lie on top of each other with parallel planes and without a gap. The wall thickness of the lower part should not be too small. The sonotrode should be positioned as perpendicular as possible in relation to the weld contact area in order to prevent the parts from shifting while being welded.

Pin welding:
Pin welding is a type of mash joint connection that is used in cases where, for instance, thin bars do not allow for the use of a different type of weld joint. The pins ensure that the components centre themselves while being welded. During the welding process the melt penetrates the cavity of the body, thereby preventing any visible weld expulsion. The advantage of this technique lies in the lower welding time afforded to the welder and the associated reduction in energy consumption.

Staking:
Ultrasonic staking makes it possible to join weldable plastics with metal or non-weldable plastics. Overcoming the rebound elasticity, staking creates a rigid joint between the materials. The benefit of this technique is that it subjects only a small area to heat, protecting the component against thermal overload. What is more, the heat generated by this welding technique is dissipated quickly by the mass of the sonotrode.

Swaging:
Swaging is often used in cases where it is not possible mould a staking pin to the plastic component. The processing times correspond to the times required for staking. It is important to note that the plasticised material will cool off under pressure below the sonotrode when welding is complete. This reliably prevents the component from rebounding.

Ultrasonic welding compared to other techniques:

Compared to other types of joining technologies, ultrasonic welding is not only faster and more efficient, but also safer for the environment. For these reasons and due to the fact that it offers shorter cycle times and lower energy consumption, this technology is well established in the marketplace.

Click here for an overview of our ultrasonic machines and of our standard ultrasonic machines MTV-SUS.

Ultraschall, eine vielseitig einsetzbare, höchst innovative Technologie!

Beim Verschweißen von thermoplastischen Materialien mittels Ultraschallenergie wird eine untrennbare Verbindung von zwei oder mehreren Teilen hergestellt. Jede herzustellende Verbindung bedarf einer schweißnahtgerechten Gestaltung in Bezug auf das Material, die Geometrie und die Lage der zu verbindenden Bauteile. Daher gilt, je besser die Schweißverbindungsauslegung, desto reproduzierbarer und risikoarmer ist die Umsetzung der Verbindung in den Schweißanlagen.

Funktionsweise des Ultraschallschweißens:

Die von einem Generator erzeugte hochfrequente Wechselspannung wird über den Konverter in mechanische Schwingungsenergie gleicher Frequenz umgewandelt. Mittels der dadurch erzeugten Molekular- und Grenzflächenreibung wird entsprechend Wärme erzeugt, die den Kunststoff plastifizieren lässt. Mit entsprechendem Druck werden die Bauteile dann zusammengefügt. Das für diesen Prozess benötigte Schwinggebilde besteht aus einem Konverter, einem Booster (Amplitudenverstärker) sowie einer Sonotrode, welche in Resonanz arbeitet.

Zum Verschweißen geeignete Bauteile:

Als Bauteile sind theoretisch alle thermoplastischen Kunststoffe, amorphe und teilkristalline Polymere zum Verschweißen denkbar, wobei sich das Schweißverhalten der Kunststoffe erheblich differenzieren kann. Amorphe und teilkristalline Polymere lassen sich beispielsweise nicht miteinander verschweißen. Harte, amorphe Kunststoffe wie z.B. PC, PS und PMMA haben hingegen einen günstigen Übertragungskoeffizienten für Ultraschallenergie. Teilkristalline Kunststoff wie z.B. PA, PP und POM haben dagegen einen hohen akustischen Dämpfungsfaktor.

Mögliche Verbindungsarten mittels Ultraschall:

Flächenschweißen:
Das Flächenschweißen kommt dort zum Einsatz, wo eine flächige oder eine umlaufend dichte Verschweißung erforderlich ist. Um zwei Bauteile flächig miteinander zu verschweißen, ist eine Schweißnahtgestaltung mittels Energierichtungsgebern erforderlich.

Punktschweißen:
Diese Methode zur Verschweißung wird überwiegend dort eingesetzt, wo z.B. flächige Teile ohne Schweißnahtvorbereitung miteinander verbunden werden müssen. Beide zu fügende Bauteile müssen jedoch planparallel, ohne Spalt, aufeinander liegen. Die Wandstärke des unteren Teils sollte nicht zu klein sein. Die Sonotrode sollte möglichst rechtwinklig zur Schweißfläche positioniert werden, um ein verschieben der Schweißteile während des Prozesses zu verhindern.

Zapfenschweißen:
Zapfenschweißen ist eine Art der Quetschnahtverbindung und wird dort angewendet wo z.B. dünne Stege eine andere Art der Schweißnaht ausschließen. Durch die Zapfen zentrieren sich die Bauteile beim Fügen von selbst. Beim Schweißprozess dringt die Schmelze in die Hohlstelle des Körpers, somit ist kein Schweißaustrieb sichtbar. Der Vorteil liegt in der geringen Schweißzeit und dem damit verbundenen geringen Energiebedarf.

Nieten:
Ultraschallnieten bietet die Möglichkeit, schweißbare Kunststoffe mit Metallen oder nicht schweißbaren Kunststoffen zu verbinden. Eine feste Verbindung kommt durch überwinden der Rückstellelastizität zustande. Der Vorteil ist der kleine Erwärmungsbereich, der eine thermische Überlastung des Bauteils ausschließt. Zudem wird die in dem Schweißprozess erzeugte Wärme durch die Masse der Sonotrode rasch abgeführt.

Bördeln:
Das Bördeln wird oft eingesetzt, wenn das Anspritzen eines Nietzapfens an das Kunststoffteil nicht möglich ist. Die Prozesszeiten entsprechen den Nietzeiten. Wichtig ist hier, dass das plastifizierte Material nach dem Schweißen unter Druck unter der Sonotrode auskühlt. Somit ist eine Rückstellung des Bauteils ausgeschlossen.

Ultraschallschweißen im Vergleich:

Das Verfahren des Ultraschallschweißens ist im Vergleich zu anderen Verbindungstechnologien nicht nur schnell und effizient, sondern ebenso umweltfreundlich. Entsprechend ist diese Technologie am Markt aufgrund kurzer Zykluszeiten und einen geringen Energiebedarf beständig etabliert.

Hier finden Sie eine Übersicht über unsere Ultraschallanlagen sowie unsere Standard-Ultraschallmaschinen MTV-SUS.