Hot Plate + Infrared

The method of joining thermoplastics using a hot plate under contact heat and pressure as well as infrared radiation is an excellent choice for large-surface plastic parts and parts with a spatially shaped geometry of the joining area.

Functional principle of hot plate welding:

The welding tool used during hot plate welding is heated by the electrical warming of a coated or non-coated hot plate. During this process, the surfaces of the components to be fused are heated on contact or by radiation and subsequently joined and cooled off under a specific pressure. Since the heating of the components is selective and performed only as appropriate for the workpiece, hot plate welding ranks among the most reliable and safest welding techniques available for thermoplastics.

Components suitable for welding:

Similar to ultrasonic welding, this technique can theoretically be applied on all thermoplastic materials as well as all amorphous and semi-crystalline polymers.

Hot plate welding methods:

The methods that can be applied fall into three different categories: low temperature range, high temperature range and infrared radiation.

The low temperature range method requires a hot plate that heats up to a temperature of up to 250° as well as a welding mirror that has been given a non-stick coating. The use of contact heat allows this technique to be exceptionally robust and reliable and to deliver tight joints that are free of particles. On the flip side, the lower temperature produces longer cycle times than the high-temperature technique.

The high temperature technique requires the hot plates to heat up to a temperature between 300° and 450°, which puts them within or above the temperature range where the component to be welded will decompose. When used for this technique, the hot plate does not need to have a coating. While offering shorter cycle times, this technique has a few distinct disadvantages compared to the low temperature method due to the high temperature, which increases the probability of fume formation and necessitates the use of an extraction system.

The technique involving the use of infrared heat / radiation heat joins the components without them coming into contact with one another. This non-contact joint cannot be established, however, unless the components have been made with the necessary precision. The warm-up time varies with the permissible distance between component and radiating body.

Welding process:

An important prerequisite for the welding process to begin and for the five phases of the joining process to commence is that the components are clean. The process starts by inserting the components into the corresponding holders and by checking their correct placement. Next, the welding surfaces are moved up evenly to the hot plate at the specified pressure and hot plate temperature until the appropriate melting temperature / melting degree of the joining areas has been reached. Afterwards, the feed units move apart while the hot plate returns from the machining position to its home position. Next, the joining process proceeds by pressing the components together along their joining areas. The joining time and the subsequent cooling time vary with the type of material used and with the wall thickness. The fully hardened component can be removed once the cooling time has elapsed.

Hot plate welding compared to other techniques:

This technique offers tremendous benefits as it allows for

  • the welding of three-dimensional and/or large plastic parts,
  • customised dimensions of the components and
  • a high degree of automation in the machines.

Compared to ultrasonic and rotation welding, this technique requires a longer cycle time, which, however, can be reduced to an efficient minimum by specifying the appropriate temperature and by designing the process accordingly.

Click here for an overview of our hot plate machines.

Heizelement + Infrarot

Die Verbindung von Thermoplasten mittels Heizelement, unter Anwendung von Wärme und Druck, eignet sich insbesondere für großflächige Kunststoffteile sowie räumlich geformter Fügezonengeometrie.

Funktionsweise des Heizelementschweißens:

Das Schweißwerkzeug wird beim Heizelementschweißen durch das elektrische Anwärmen eines beschichteten oder unbeschichteteten Heizelements erhitzt. Dabei werden die Flächen der zu verschweißenden Bauteile durch Berührung oder Strahlung erwärmt und im Anschluss unter spezifischem Druck zusammengefügt und abgekühlt. Die Erwärmung der Bauteile erfolgt selektiv und werkstückkonform, weshalb das Heizelementschweißen zu den wohl zuverlässigsten und sichersten Schweißverfahren von Thermoplasten zählt.

Zum Verschweißen geeignete Bauteile:

Ähnlich dem Ultraschallschweißen eignen sich theoretisch ebenso alle thermoplastischen Kunststoffe, amorphe und teilkristalline Polymere.

Methoden des Heizelementschweißens:

Grundsätzlich sind die anwendbaren Methoden zu unterscheiden in Nieder- und Hochtemperaturbereich sowie Infrarotstrahlung.

Im Rahmen des Niedertemperaturbereichs erwärmt sich das Heizelement bis zu 250° und der Schweißspiegel erfordert eine Antifhaftbeschichtung. Dieses Verfahren der Kontakterwärmung stellt ein robustes Verfahren mit hoher Zuverlässigkeit, dichten Verbindungen und partikelfreier Verbindung dar, das jedoch bedingt durch die Temperatur längere Zykluszeiten aufweist als das Hochtemperaturverfahren.

Beim Hochtemperaturverfahren werden die Heizelemente auf eine Gradzahl zwischen 300° bis 450° erwärmt und liegen dabei im Bereich oder oberhalb der Zersetzungstemperatur des zu verschweißenden Bauteils. Dabei ist eine Beschichtung des Heizelements nicht notwendig. Zwar kann dieses Verfahren mit kürzeren Zykluszeiten dienen, Nachteile im Vergleich zum Niedertemperaturverfahren ergeben sich jedoch bedingt durch die hohe Temperatur, wodurch die Wahrscheinlichkeit von Dämpfen steigt und eine Absaugung notwendig wird.

Im Rahmen des Verfahrens der Infrarotwärme bzw. Strahlungswärme erfolgt die Verbindung der Bauteile kontaktlos. Voraussetzung hierfür ist eine entsprechende Präzision der Bauteile. Die Anwärmzeit ist abhängig vom zulässigen Abstand zwischen Bauteil und Strahlungskörper.

Schweißprozess:

Eine wichtige Voraussetzung vor Start des Schweißprozesses ist die Sauberkeit der Bauteile, bevor im Rahmen von fünf Phasen der Verbindungsprozess vorgenommen werden kann. Dabei werden die Bauteile zuerst in die entsprechenden Aufnahmen eingelegt und auf korrekte Platzierung hin geprüft, bevor die Schweißflächen gleichmäßig unter vorgegebenen Druck sowie Heizelementtemperatur an das Heizelement zugestellt werden, bis eine entsprechende Schmelztemperatur bzw. Schmelzgrad der Fügezonen erreicht ist. Danach fahren die Vorschübe wieder auseinander, unterdessen das Heizelement sich ebenso von seiner Bearbeitungsposition wieder in seine Ausgangsstellung positioniert. Jetzt erfolgt der Fügeprozess, indem die Bauteile entsprechend ihrer Fügezonen zusammengedrückt werden. Dabei gestalten sich Fügezeit und anschließende Abkühlzeit je nach Materialart und Wanddicke. Nach der Abkühlzeit kann das voll gefestigte Bauteil entnommen werden.

Heizelementschweißen im Vergleich:

Vorteilhaft gestaltet sich dieses Verfahren insbesondere aufgrund

  • der Verschweißung von dreidimensionalen und/oder großen Kunststoffteilen,
  • individueller Abmessungen der Bauteile sowie
  • hoher Automatisierungsgrade der Maschinen.

Im Vergleich zum Ultraschall- und Rotationsschweißen erfordert das Verfahren eine höhere Taktzeit, die jedoch durch individuelle Spezifizierung auf ein effizientes Minimum mittels Temperatur und Prozessgestaltung reduziert werden kann.

Hier finden Sie eine Übersicht über unsere Heizelementanlagen.